I am scared.

In a few days time I leave for America. I’m studying across the pond for a year as part of my university degree.

I am excited

I am scared

I am nervous

I am eager

I am a lot of different things right now.

I suffer from anxiety, whilst lucky enough to not get panic attacks, my anxiety is worst when I am unsure of my surroundings and when I am travelling. Unfortunately, the big move to America includes both of those things.

However, in the past month I have been trying to combat my anxiety.

  • Firstly, I have tried exercise. I find exercising gives me something to focus on and gives me a chance to get away from all the things going on. Working out is already part of my routine but coming home for the summer puts exercise on the back burner as I do not have a gym membership. Β Instead I have been using videos on two Youtube channels which I can highly recommend:
    • Yoga with Adriene: This lady is amazing! Her yoga videos are fantastic, she goes through each move slowly, giving you the chance to get to grips with the foundations of yoga. Her personality shines through her videos and it feels like having a friend teaching you. I highly recommend her videos as they are not too lengthy or fast pace.
    • Tone It Up: These videos are fab to watch as they are usually filmed on a Californian beach, making you feel like you’re part of an LA fitness class. The girls Katrina and Karena are full of energy and the workouts are great. They a little more intense than the yoga videos but they’re still not gonna leave you in a sweaty heap, gasping for water and swearing you’ll never do it again.
  • I’ve also started meditation using the Headspace app.
    • It gives you 10 free lessons in meditation which help to just give me a few moments to slow down all the thoughts buzzing around in my head.
    • Unfortunately you do have to subscribe after the first ten (which I’m still debating over whether it is worth doing) but the Take Ten lessons give you a starting point.

This year abroad is going to be a huge challenge but I’m excited as well as nervous. I feel that the experience is going to help me to combat my anxiety and make me more adventurous.

To any other anxiety sufferers, what do you do to help sooth your anxieties?

5 thoughts on “I am scared.

Leave a Reply

