It gets better…

I could pretend I had the best week of my life but I’d be lying.

I’ve had an amazing first week in America packed full of wonderful things (post to come later with details of that) but as you may have seen, in my last post I mentioned having some problems with my roommate. The truth is she was making my life miserable. I think I FaceTimed my dad every day last week in floods of tears because of the hostility I was receiving from this girl. It truly baffles me that someone can be unkind to someone who is in a foreign country by themselves with no escape. 

I don’t want this post to scare anyone who is planning a year abroad to worry about roommates though as I have met some wonderful people here who both make great roomies and have great roomies. The important thing to remember and to understand is that it can get better. If you live with someone whose habits annoy you – talk to them because chances are they may not even realise they are doing it or it bothers you. If they continue talk to an RA as they can help you settle things with your roommate. However, if someone is acting in a hostile manner and you feel uncomfortable and feel like your health and your school work might suffer please remember this: you are paying for this experience and it is the responsibility of your host college or university to help you make the most out of it. If you are suffering, find people to contact, make sure your home university knows and is in contact with your host university and make sure to have a supportive group surrounding you. Work with your university until the issue is resolved, don’t let the issue get put on the back burner. If it’s dramatically effecting your experience, something needs to be done.

Without my friends and staff here and  the support of family and friends back home I wouldn’t have got through one of the longest weeks of my life.
I am now so excited to start this next part of the adventure, stronger and happier. It may sound dramatic but living with someone who scares you is no joke. 

Watch out for posts coming up about my trip to a State Park and my first week of classes. 

Leave a Reply

