Aca-scuse me?! 

First of all I want to apologise to my acapella group and my future self who I’m sure will look back and cringe but I couldn’t resist using a ‘Pitch Perfect’ quote as the title. Just to clear things up for all my lovelies back home, we do not put aca at the beginning of everything we say! 

This week has been tough for me, which you will know if you’ve read my previous blog posts or have been unfortunate enough to be on the receiving end of a teary phone call. Big shoutout to my amazing friends, family & boyfriend who have listened to all my crying this week. 

Nevertheless, there is always one thing that can make me feel better and that is music. This week we had our first real acapella performance. We have sung at a school and at a soccer game here which were both fun but this was something different. I went over to two of the girls’ house to get ready where we got into our pretty clothes and did our hair and make up. 

  
Bekah made my hair look amazing and I’ve already told her she has to fly over when I get married to do my hair for me. (I’m not getting married anytime soon, no one freak out!). 

The concert was at another university about thirty minutes away. It’s always nice to get off campus and see the surrounding area. When we arrived we sound checked and then headed to the green room to warm up. They had a screen set up with the live stream of the show so we got to see the other groups who were going on before us. It wasn’t too long until we were being called up behind stage listening to them introducing us. I’m unsure why we started meowing at each other but it’s something that has developed over the last few weeks. Therefore, it only seemed fitting to tell the hosts that when they introduced us we wanted to dedicate our songs to cats. My group is the best, they really are. 

Stepping out onto that stage with the lights on us was an amazing feeling. It felt like I blinked and it was over but I loved every minute. My soul sparkles when I sing. That sounds disgustingly cringey and soppy but it’s true. I just feel better when I sing. It was exactly what I needed to help pull me out of my doom and gloom.  I couldn’t ask for a better group of people to sing with and I want to thank them so much for always making me smile even when I feel like crying. 

Here’s to a new week filled with smiles. 

  

Leave a Reply

