A fabulous weekend away

Last week I spent four fabulous days in Newcastle visiting one of my oldest friends. We have both been out of the country at different times since June so we were both very excited to catch up again. Whilst I have visited Scotland several times I have never really visited any of the cities in the North of England. My only point of reference was Geordie Shore which is a bit of a guilty pleasure of mine. I am now aware that it is not a particularly accurate representation of how gorgeous the city is.

After an early start and several trains I arrived at the station and was greeted by big hugs. We made our way back to Emily’s flat where I met her housemates who were all lovely. She spoilt me with a breakfast of eggs, smoked salmon and bagels – who says students can’t be classy! After this I was given a tour of the city and we mooched about in our favourite shop, Urban Outfitters. In the evening we went to a lovely little bar and indulged in some flavoured mojitos, a perfect end to the day!


On the Friday Emily showed me round the student areas and we went for a walk around Jesmond Dean, a big park filled with tall trees and autumn leaves. There was even a little petting zoo filled with sheep, ducks, chickens and rabbits. It was nice to get a bit of fresh air before an afternoon of chilling out at the flat. In the evening we went out for dinner to a lovely Italian restaurant and then went to a bar for drinks. Not paying attention and chatting away led to us putting away two bottles of wine and it’s safe to say we were a little bit more drunk than we had intended. Nevertheless, it was a fun evening taking in the sights of the city.


Saturday greeted us with a bit of a hangover so we decided to mooch about the shops before getting ready for a Halloween party. We had decided to go as deer and the makeup was actually trickier than we had imagined. Unfortunately, at the moment I get exhausted very easily and after three very full on days I had my reservations about the party. Reservations turned into worry which eventually turned into a panic attack. So my Halloween night was spent listening to everyone have fun whilst I stayed in and watched the X Factor.

I am one of these people that never likes to dwell on things or stooge about. I like to get on and do things. The way my mental health is at the moment, sometimes I’m not able to do this. Sometimes I have to give myself time – not something I’m used to. For anyone who is suffering, go out and do things whenever you can because it’s so good to take a break from day to day life. However, it’s important to remember it’s okay that you are not always able to pick yourself back up straight away. Just do what you think is best for yourself.

Nevertheless, I had a wonderful weekend away and I will definitely be going back to a city I’ve now got a bit of a soft spot for.

Look out on my YouTube channel in the next few days as I will be uploading my first monthly vlog which will include some footage from this weekend away.

YouTube: completelyrambling

Twitter & Snapchat: sophrambling

Instagram: completelyrambling

Leave a Reply

