Little Changes I’m Trying To Make

Hi again!

Recently, I’ve decided that it’s time to make a few small changes in my life. It’s nothing drastic but I thought I would write them down here in case they inspired anyone else to do the same. Whether this be making the same changes as me, or making other ones, I think it is important to shake things up a bit every once in a while. It is so easy to get stuck in a rut, following the same routine which makes us feel a bit rubbish at the end of the day. Here are a few examples of what I have been doing to alleviate this problem.

1. A Digital Detox. 

I know this sounds a bit extreme seeing as in this day and age we are surrounded by technology all the time. However, I recently watched a video by Estée Lalonde, (essiebutton on Youtube), where she did a 48 hour digital detox. No television, no internet & no phone (apart from replying to important texts). I thought she was crazy, I really did, but watching the video changed my mind. She got out and did things during the weekend, she read books, she walked her dog and generally just shook things up from the usual routine of watching tv and wasting hours on the internet. Whilst 48 hours may be a little too long for me at the moment, I’m trying to take time out of my day to completely free myself from my phone and the internet. It feels good to get a bit of distance from the world of social media and just be in the moment.

I’ll leave the link to Estée’s video here if you would like to take a look. 

2.Reading

This is one thing I have told myself to do every year since I was about fifteen. Reading more is always one of my top resolutions and until recently its not been one I have really stuck to. My university course requires A LOT of reading so when I get time to chill out, the last thing I want to do is pick up a book. 2015 has definitely been the year I have made more of an effort to read but I still feel like I could make more time for it in my daily routine. At the moment what tends to happen is I’ll start reading a book, really get into it and do nothing else but read for a few days until its finished and then not pick up another book for a few weeks. So my aim is to read more regularly, which fits in well with trying to spend less time on the internet. I highly recommend the book ‘The Novel Cure’ if you are looking for book recommendations on a certain topic. http://thenovelcure.com/ They have books for everything from anxiety to boredom to not wanting to get out of bed! If anyone has any book recommendations, please let me know!

3. Meditation

It has been said so many times before that mindfulness & meditation are really helpful for those with mental health issues. I bought an app called ‘Buddify’ recently which has different meditations for different scenarios. Some are 5 minutes long others are 20 minutes long, you can pick whatever suits you. It is a great app that has been used twice and has sat there on my phone ever since. So I wanted to try and make more time for meditation too. For something that doesn’t involve a lot of movement or effort I don’t really know why I have avoided doing it. I think as humans we sometimes don’t allow ourselves a few moments to stop and reflect. I want to give myself that time.

4. Veganism 

Don’t click off this screen because you’ve seen the word veganism!! I am not going to preach to you about it because its a decision people should make for themselves. When I cook for myself at university I eat a vegetarian diet. I’m picky about meat and Quorn products are less expensive and tastier in my opinion. I will occasionally eat chicken or fish if someone has prepared it for me because I don’t want to be rude (I’m extremely British in that way!). I have also had weak moments in restaurants when the vegetarian options are a bit questionable but generally I try to eat vegetarian. I’ve been doing some research about veganism recently purely out of interest and I can see the benefits of it. I am a complete animal lover and the cruelty many of them face in order to produce dairy products makes my heart hurt. As I said, I am not going to preach about veganism here but its something worth thinking about so I am trying to slowly introduce a vegan diet into my lifestyle. I can already tell you now that I will never be a complete vegan because my local supermarket does not sell vegan chocolate and I am a complete chocaholic (hehe!). Joking aside,even reducing my consumption of meat and dairy products seems to be a positive thing to me.

5. Positivity

Having depression can make everything seem awful. I have days where I cannot seem to find any goodness in this life and that is a heavy feeling to carry. I want to try to document the happy / positive / good moments in my day so when I next have one of my really dark days I can look back on what I’ve written and hopefully feel a little uplifted. Even if you don’t have depression I think this is something everyone should try to do as we all have down days.

Thank you for reading this post, I hope it has inspired you to shake up your own routine! Remember if anyone would like to submit a story (can be done anonymously) for ‘Sharing Our Stories to Stop The Stigma’, feel free to get in touch. I am available at all these different places:

Email: completelyrambling@gmail.com

Twitter & Snapchat: @sophrambling

Instagram: @completelyrambling

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCXm6l2emoqudw6B4jYk77TQ

** none of the photos used are owned by me, they are all on google images **

Leave a Reply

