Accepting your bad days

Recently I had a really hectic week filled with exciting new adventures and opportunities. However, despite all the excitement something happened that made me go from being on cloud nine to feeling like the heavens had just opened and thrown a load of crap on my day.

I won’t go into the details of what happened but I wanted to write this post to reassure myself and others that having bad days or weeks or months is absolutely 100% completely OKAY. This is something that should be taught in schools from day one because from the time you are born until the time you die you will definitely have a crappy day & we need to understand how to accept them.

After hearing the bad news I received I immediately told myself not to cry and ordered myself to get ready for my gym class. I was about half way to the gym, trying to hold back my tears when I realised it was absolutely pointless going to a class when the last thing I wanted to do was to be surrounded by people. I often use exercise as a way to escape my problems for a bit and get some headspace. However, if you really don’t feel like it, for god’s sake do not FORCE yourself to do it. If you want to have an ugly Kim K esque cry or eat a couple of cookies or curl up in a ball, LET YOURSELF HAVE THAT TIME.

This is something I really need to learn myself as I have spent years never letting myself have time to just feel everything completely uncensored. Once you have given yourself that time you have to come to terms with whatever it is and pick yourself back up again. That’s super hard to do but its ten times easier when you’ve had some time, rather than just trying to get on with it and suppress your feelings. They will bubble up inside you and cause more damage than you can imagine.

When I got home I sat on my kitchen floor and my dogs came and snuggled their faces into mine and I had a really good cry. I talked it out with my dad and my boyfriend and then sat down to write the words you are reading now. I have only been writing this for about five minutes but I can already feel my mind,body & soul all breathing a sigh of relief. Just by giving myself time to feel I already see things clearer and feel more positive.

Recently I was listening to an episode of the Fempire podcast (a very sassy podcast, check it out!) where one of the women said that before she goes into auditions she says “let the universe give me this or something better”. This is one of the best rituals I have ever heard of and I’ve been trying to apply it to my life recently. Its very comforting to think that when something doesn’t work out it means there is something better out there. So far the universe has proven this to me in many different ways. My year abroad didn’t work out but hell am I loving what I am doing now WAY more. I am working with some big names that I could have only dreamed of being involved with before!

So, for anyone having a rough day/week/month please remember that this is totally okay. Give yourself that time to have ALL THE FEELS and then remind yourself that something better is waiting for you.

social media bits:

twitter: sophrambling // insta: completelyrambling // email: completelyrambling@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

