Living the dream: my first week at work

Seeing as I have just started a new internship I thought I would write a little post about my first couple of weeks there. As I type this, I am currently sitting on the tube on my way into work. Now that I am using the tube more frequently I would have hoped to have seen someone at least vaguely famous by now. Alas, no celebrity needs to be on a tube at 7 in the morning.

That’s the first thing I’m going to address – the early mornings. I have to admit I was a little apprehensive about how early I would need to wake up and how late I would be getting home. Honestly, I barely notice. Okay that’s a lie, I do notice the early mornings, especially today, but on the whole it’s affected  me less than I was anticipating. I think that is probably down to how much I am enjoying the job.

I absolutely adore this job. For anyone not 100% sure of what they want to do I suggest interning somewhere. This internship has confirmed to me how much I love the job and how much I want to make it my career. If I could go straight into a permanent role from this internship I would but I think I should probably finish that degree I’m spending 21k on first! Don’t get me wrong I am very excited to go back to uni and I absolutely love my course. It’s just nice to know that I’m also going to really enjoy the career I have picked. Thank god I didn’t take anyone’s advice to be a lawyer!

My first few days have been fast paced to say the least. We are working on a huge project and there are some tight deadlines but getting my teeth stuck into something is exactly what I wanted to do. I also had an induction day with all the other interns in the organisation. We had talks from all different departments as well as those awkward ice breakers everyone thinks are a good idea. However, the other interns all seem lovely which is an added bonus as I was the only intern in my last job. The talks from the departments were very interesting and inspiring and they encouraged us to get involved as much as possible. I came away so hyped about the whole thing. In fact that’s how I finish every day at the moment. Every day on the train home I text my dad and my boyfriend with something along the lines of “OMG I LOVE THIS. THIS IS MY DREAM JOB! AHHHHH”.

So that’s why I’ve failed to post anything on here in a while. My excitement at the end of the day quickly turns into tiredness which means I’ve fallen asleep at 9.30 every night this week. Grandma over here! Never mind, I can deal with being a grandma if every day is like this!

If anyone has any questions about being an intern, do not hesitate to contact me on social media.

What is your dream job?

social media bits:

twitter: @sophrambling // insta: completelyrambling // email: completelyrambling@gmail.com // Youtube: my latest video

Leave a Reply

