March Favourites

March has been a great little month even though I’m trying to not count down the days until my American Adventure. Here are all the things I loved in March:

Books

All The Light We Cannot See – Anthony Doerr

This story follows the lives of a German boy and a French girl during WWII. The way the author interlinks these two stories is wonderful and it definitely didn’t turn out the way I had expected which is something I like in a book. It’s beautifully written and I was enthralled throughout it. I can’t really say too much about it without giving the plot away but I really recommend it. Also the cover art is beautiful which I know isn’t important but, personally, I always appreciate a pretty looking book!


Broken Sky – L.A. Weatherly

This is the first in a new series from this author and is set in a dystopian version of 1940s America. War is illegal and instead they have Peacefights where two pilots from the countries who are disagreeing try to get the other plane down. The aim isn’t to kill the pilots, they are all expected to bail from the plane if it has been fatally hit. The idea is that it is a fair and peaceful way to settle disputes. However, Amity Vancour, the heroine of this story, uncovers a huge secret which threatens to rock this peaceful world they have been living in. This book is full of drama & adventure – I even put off reading the last 20 pages as I knew the only way this book would end would be on a massive cliff hanger. I was right & it pains me to know I will have to wait until Autumn when the next book will be released.  I really recommend this book to anyone looking for a new series to get into.

 

Beauty

Anatomicals Sleep Balm

I picked this up at Urban Outfitters for about £5 and was excited to try something that promised to help me sleep. You apply this balm to your pulse points i.e. your temples or your wrists and because of its lavender scent it is supposed to send you to sleep. Whilst I can’t claim that I fell asleep as soon as I applied the balm, I do find it really helpful to calm my anxiety at night time. Recently, I have been on the verge of panic attacks every night for reasons unclear to me but the scent of this balm really helps to soothe and relax me. I really like this product but if you are not a believer in essential oils & their properties then it may not be for you.


Hurraw Moon Balm

I got this product in my LoveLula box which is a monthly subscription box that sends natural,organic and vegan products right to your doorstep for the small fee of £12.95. I will be doing a review of all the products in this box so keep your eyes peeled for that! The moon balm that was in this box is my favourite product I have tried so far for two reasons:

  1. It’s a really moisturising lip-balm which continues to work for a long time after applying it
  2. I like the words moon balm

If you’re not sold on something called a ‘moon balm’ I am unsure how to please you because to me that is the cutest little name for a product! The idea is that you apply it before bed and it moisturises throughout the night. After a few days of using it I really felt the difference and it is nice to use a product knowing that it has been produced in a cruelty free way.

TV Shows

Gilmore Girls

This is the ultimate feel good weekend viewing! If you haven’t seen it, get on Netflix and watch it. I’ll apologise now if you end up losing your weekend in Star’s Hollow.

Moments

Adele at the O2

I have adored Adele’s music since the day I got her first album as a birthday present when I was about 12. I am very picky with who I go and see live as tickets are often expensive and I want a lot of bang for my buck. Whilst the tickets to see Adele were pricey I can safely say they were worth every single penny. Sian & I went as her little birthday present from me, on Adele’s first night in London. She managed to make the huge arena feel like we were sitting in her front room having a chat and a singsong. She had such good crowd interaction and she came out with the funniest things. If any of you have seen the news story about the couple getting engaged and Adele bringing them up on stage – I was there and it was magical! My boyfriend has been told I will now only accept a proposal if it is done at an Adele concert so sorry girl but you’re gonna have to keep touring for a few more years 😉


Not many artists can make their own songs sound better but she hit every note perfectly and the emotion she put into every song was breathtaking. I didn’t sleep that night because I was still in shock that I had seen my idol live! Maybe that’s a little sad but honestly…I am okay with that!

Oxford

Oxford is one of my favourite places to visit. The city is a magical little haven of bookstores, coffee shops and very intelligent looking people. Recently, I met up with my old flatmate, Anisha, and showed her some of my favourite places. She got completely wrapped up in my favourite bookshop and we both came out with a carrier bag full of books! We caught up on all the gossip & enthused about how much we were looking forward to fourth year. Roll on September!


What have been your favourite things this month? Is there anything I should try in April? Let me know:

Twitter: @sophrambling // insta: @completelyrambling // email: completelyrambling@gmail.com // tumblr:completely-rambling.tumblr.com

 

 

One thought on “March Favourites

Leave a Reply

