Bill Bailey

“I’m English, and as such I crave disappointment. That’s why I buy Kinder Surprise”, Bill Bailey

By some magical act of the universe I managed to bag front row tickets to see British comedian Bill Bailey’s tour –Β Limboland –Β with my dad. We decided it would be a belated Father’s Day present for him & an early birthday present for me.

I took dad to Zizzi’s which has totally upped its game with its vegetarian/vegan options. This made me super happy because it meant I had a choice of things I could order rather than having to pick the 1 vegetarian option on offer or cobbling together random side dishes & starters to make a meal I would actually enjoy.

Dad had spaghetti carbonara & a glass of red wine whilst I had a gorgeous pesto ravioli dish & a Pink G&T. We finished off our meal with my favourite dessert – Affogato!

I haven’t been to my local theatre since I was about 15 so it was nice to be back in a place I had been to so many times before to see pantomimes & musicals when I was younger. Most of you will have seen Bill Bailey on various comedy panel shows, such as QI & Never Mind the Buzzcocks. However, you may not be as familiar with the comedy stylings of his solo shows. His are a mixture of rants, hilarious stories and music. He incorporates his talent on various instruments including the piano, the guitar & the mandolin, as well as using beat loops and samples, to create the punch line to jokes & hysterical stand alone songs such as Happy Birthday in the Minor Key.

image
source: timeout.com

His rants on Brexit and the current political situation were spot on & his anecdotes about family holidays & the bizarre phenomenon of Britishness were brilliantly delivered.

Now, when I say we had front row seats I mean we literally had to crane our necks to see the stage which did give us a little ache by the end of the show. However, it was totally worth it because Bill (we’re on first name terms now obvs) called on us as part of his jokes & he even let dad play one of his guitars!

After the show was over my face hurt from laughing so much. I don’t think there was a time when I wasn’t smiling or laughing – which made up for the guy sat next to us who didn’t crack a smile the entire time!

It was a really special evening & I’m so glad I got to share it the coolest dude around, my dad.

I definitely recommend catching one of Bill Bailey’s shows if you can.Β Limboland is now over but I’m sure this genius still has a few shows up his sleeves!

Have you seen any comedians recently? Who should I check out next?

Social Media

twitter // insta // youtube // bloglovin // tumblr

email me at: completelyrambling@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

