fears of final year

In a few short weeks I will be back in the full swing of university life for my final year of education! (screams internally, freaks out about the future, implodes … ).

After a year off from education I am very nervous about being back in an environment that has contributed to my anxiety over the years. By this I mean, I am one of those people that puts an insane amount of pressure on themselves when it comes to academia. I spend hours stressing over essays and exams and even more hours staying up at night worrying about it all. So that is my first fear. That I won’t be able to keep a handle on my anxiety as soon as I am given a deadline.

I am also out of practice. I haven’t written in essay in almost a year and I have this completely irrational fear that I have forgotten how to string a sentence together. Obviously I have been writing this blog during my year off so I can clearly still write comprehensively. I have also tried to keep up with my dissertation research whilst I’ve been away from uni so I haven’t exactly been slacking during this year. Therefore, I really need to just CHILL.

I feel like I have the usual fears that everyone has about their final year of university – the workload, the pressure, the desperate need to enjoy every minute because it will all be different when we are in the working world and the terrifying prospect of being in the working world!! On top of this I am even more anxious because of the things I have talked about earlier.

So this blog post is as much as a reminder to myself than for anyone – it will all be okay. I have come a long way from the girl I was a year ago, as cliched as that sounds, it’s true.

I’ll make a deal with you guys – if you keep me chilled by sending me pictures of cute puppies at regular intervals I promise to try and be as helpful to you as I possibly can.

In the words of High School Musical … we are all in this together!

find me here

twitter // insta // bloglovin // tumblr // youtube

if you want to work with me / write for the blog / talk to me email me at: completelyrambling@gmail.com

3 thoughts on “fears of final year

Leave a Reply

