what i am taking to uni 

As my return to uni approaches I am now being faced with the dull task of packing most of what I own and carting it across the country. To make it a little more appealing I thought I would write a post going through a couple of the non-essentials I take to uni with me.

Quick disclaimer: I’ve included a random mix of things in the post to show the variety of things I bring & why. I’m not saying you need these, they’re just some of the items that over the years I have learned help me out the most.

beauty products

Being in lectures/the library all day can make you feel pretty gross so I always make sure I have a selection of my fav products so that I can pamper myself every once in a while. Having a hot bath/shower does wonders for the soul & taking a little extra time to apply a face mask or massage your skin really can make a difference.

 

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

body shop peach body scrub (not available online) / lush cup o’ coffee face & body mask / rituals shanti chakra body oil

duvet + cute bedding

Most first year halls lull you into a false sense of security that wherever you are studying isn’t that cold. Then you move into your own flat & you pay bills & you realise that you can’t afford to have the heating on 24/7 & wherever you live is FREEZING. This year I refuse to wake up with icicles for toes so I have invested in a snuggly blanket (TK Maxx have great deals) & a 12 tog duvet to keep me cosy. Having cute bedding isn’t essential but it can help make a house a home.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

duvet cover set from IKEA 

My eeyore cushion is own of my prized possessions. Not only is it adorable but lying in bed & stroking it’s ears has been scientifically proven to calm you down when you’re stressing. Okay so it hasn’t been scientifically proven but it works for me and that’s good enough.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

from the disney store – not available but here is something similar

ukulele

I’ve been playing guitar for years but I recently picked up a ukulele & began to teach myself. I use music as a way to help unwind and quieten my mind when there’s too much going on up there. So this little fella plus my trusty guitar are coming with me.

i got this one from amazon for £2o

wall art 

Student houses have a reputation for being a bit drab so I like to brighten up my walls to make it feel more homely. Throughout the summer I have been picking up interesting postcards on my travels & cutting things out of magazines. I’m going to pair these with photos I’ve taken (go to truprints as they are offering 100 prints for £1 at the moment & 75 prints free if you’re a new customer! ps not spon just like good deals 4 u) & make my walls look pretty!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

eye mask

Living in a city means you get a lot of unnatural light at night from things such as street lamps. This eye mask has been my saving grace & it means I look fab even when I sleep (lol).

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

eye mask from urban outfitters (not available anymore)


What are your uni non-essentials? Is there anything I have missed?

find me here

twitter // insta // bloglovin // tumblr // youtube

if you want to work with me / write for the blog / talk to me email me at: completelyrambling@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

