Girls’ Night In

I can’t remember whether I have mentioned this before but I am part of my university’s Uni Boob Team for the charity CoppaFeel. This means that I help raise funds for the charity through involving students in fundraisers on campus.

CoppaFeel is a charity that raises awareness about breast cancer in young people and was founded by Kris Hallenga, herself diagnosed with breast cancer when she was 23. Kris and her team work to make sure that young people are clued up on how to check their boobs. You can find out more about what they do here.

fc7cff7c5a91c46f520bb2acecb53165

I really wanted to organise my own event to get my friends involved and decided on hosting a girls’ night in at my house. Honestly, I stressed myself out about it way too much – it is so easy just to invite a few friends over, paint your nails and eat some cake.Β wip2

However, me being me I wanted to go the extra mile to make it special. I made a whole presentation on prezi, contacted local businesses to get raffle prizes, asked people to donate clothes for a swap shop and spent hours thinking of ways I could make it the best girls’ night in.

Processed with VSCO with hb1 preset

Luckily, CoppaFeel provided me with a free fundraising kit which included a very fetching boob badge, as well as balloons, napkins, stickers and ‘check your boobs’ cards. I am also lucky enough to have friends who didn’t mind pitching in and bringing along glitter, hair chalk, cake and raffle prizes. I also spent a hungover morning making cookies and boob cakes (fairy cakes with badly iced boobs on them).

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

 

The night itself was such a giggle! We had prosecco, put glitter on our faces and ate our weight in cupcakes. PLUS, all my friends went away knowing how to check their boobs and know what was normal for them. Overall, I raised just over Β£500 thanks to those who came to the event and the kind donations from those who couldn’t make it.

I really urge you to have a look at the work CoppaFeel does and considered hosting your own event. It doesn’t have to be a huge deal, it could just be a few friends. The point is that people our age need to know how to spot warning signs. The treatment for cancer is improving every day and if caught early breast cancer doesn’t have to mean the end.

15349752_10210755498140727_8152735254492808646_n

feel those boobs people.Β 

find me here:

twitter // insta // bloglovin // tumblr // youtube

if you want to work with me ( i am PR friendly i promise) / write for the blog / talk to me email me at: completelyrambling@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

