thoughts on: la la land

My housemate & I have started a ritual of hanging out on Wednesday nights & watching a film. This week we decided it was time to go and see La La Land as we had heard so much about it & it seemed right up our street.

We were not disappointed.

I feel like I need to see it a couple more times to be able to write something really in depth about it so for now please acknowledge that these are my first impressions. I am going to be as non-spoilery as a can but in order for this to really make sense I would recommend seeing the film first.

lalaland.jpg

image source

The costumes

After the first number I lent over to my housemate & said ‘let’s never wear anything but primary coloured tea dresses’.

Every single one of Emma Stone’s costumes were amazing but THAT.YELLOW.DRESS. As a blonde hair paled skin lady I would never have considered wearing yellow but now I am on the look out for that dress. Anyone know a good place to find one similar?

I loved the colour scheme and hint of nostalgia in the clothes, especially the fact that Ryan Gosling was in a suit / smart shirt & skinny tie 99% of the time.

It was one of those films I came out of desperate to go out and buy a whole new wardrobe.

6z33f0

image source

The soundtrack

Has been on repeat ever since I saw it. I personally love Jazz, having studied it at school and having a father who plays Dave Brubeck religiously, so I loved the incorporation of it in the film.

Mia and Seb’s motif was so beautiful – it made my housemate cry every time it played.

The opening song has gained a lot of criticism but personally I thought it was great using voices that were not completely polished and broadway-styled.

City of Stars is on loop, constantly running through my mind.

Overall, top notch music.

 

The story line

I will put my hands up –  I am really not a fan of romantic films. They also seem so corny & they grate on me more than most.

That being said, I loved the way they portrayed Mia & Seb’s relationship. They focused on the little things that make up a love story – the planetarium scene is the perfect metaphor for how it feels to fall in love.

The little winks and nods at the classic old Hollywood films were brilliant and have inspired me to have a little movie marathon of them soon.

It is rare that I come out of a film with little criticism of a film but I really am yet to find a fault with this one.

Leave your comments down below – I would love to know what you think!

find me here:

twitter // insta // bloglovin // tumblr // youtube

if you want to work with me ( i am PR friendly i promise) / write for the blog / talk to me email me at: completelyrambling@gmail.com

4 thoughts on “thoughts on: la la land

  1. I totally agree with everything you said! I watched it last Monday and have yet to listen to anything but the soundtrack- it’s so beautiful; and I really really love how the seasons changed to tell the story. Such a good film 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

