lost & loss

i lost a big part of who i am this weekend.

i said goodbye to my family home, where i have lived since i was three years old.

all of my memories were made there.

we got our first dog when we moved into that house. i loved her.

i had my friends over for birthday parties and sleepovers. we would stay up late eating sugary sweets, watching films and taking pictures thinking we looked cool.

i had my first kiss in that house. it wasn’t great.

so many christmases have been spent there. lights winding round the tree, christmas cards pinned to the beams.

it was my sanctuary in my darkest times.

my mum lived and died there. it was her dream home & she loved every nook and cranny it had. one of her last wishes was to spend her last weeks in the home she had made with her family. she slipped into eternal sleep in her favourite place in the world.

i said goodbye to my family home, where i have lived since i was three years old.

all my memories were made there.

i am sad. this is difficult. i have lost the only place i have ever known.

but not my memories.

my memories i still hold close.

Leave a Reply

