tips for productive revision

It’s that time of year again ~ exam time! Whether you are studying for your GCSEs, A Levels or like me have the final exams of your university career looming, here are some hopefully helpful tips to get you through long study sessions.

  1. The Pomodoro Technique

This technique consists of working for 25 minutes and then taking a 10 minute break. It has been shown that your brain can only concentrate properly for 25 minutes before it stops taking information in effectively. I love this technique and it has massively improved my productivity

2. Do not disturb

Use that feature on your phone, you know the one with the moon sign. It stops all social media, texts and calls from lighting up your screen unless they are in your favourites list. It’s one of the best features for boosting your productivity, use it!

3. Create a calming work environment

My university library is very detrimental to my revision mainly because they do not let you consume any food or drink (except water) and it is either arctic or sahara desert with no in between. Instead of subjecting myself to this uncomfortable form of studying I have turned my room into a little sanctuary. Candles, a little succulent plant, a comfortable blanket and some cosy slippers and I am all set for a few hours studying. I am lucky to live in a quiet neighborhood but if you don’t have this luxury you can definitely create a little sanctuary in the library too. For example, my friend brings a little cactus with her to keep her company during a hardcore essay writing session.

4. Take a walk

I’m not talking 10k here, I’m talking 15 minutes tops just getting some fresh air into your lungs. It allows your brain a little quiet time and being in nature is one of the best things you can do when you are stressed.

find me here:

twitter // insta // tumblr

if you want to work with me  / write for the blog / talk to me email me at: completelyrambling@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

